How do you live your life

by withenamora

So friends and family had asked me, with the amount of salary that I draw every month, why don’t I own a car or a bike. Here’s my answer to them. You see, owning a transportation of your own, being in Singapore, its no longer an investment like in the old days. Its an accountability. To own one is to be tied down to a certain commitment to something. My belief is that why should we spend our lives commiting to a “thing” instead of a being. Rather then working hard to spend on insurance, road tax, petrol, maintenance, why not I use it for the future of my children’s education.

Every year I wish to travel. And if God’s willing, I will get married and have children of my own and then I can bring them to travel as well. Because to me, the best school you can ever attend is your life experience. Not primary, secondary, ite, poly or uni. I’ve seen how people go on with their lives doing OT just so they could raise their standard of living. It doesn’t seem much, but look at it on a different angle. The time you spend at work is the time you not spend with your family. Don’t think children are too young to understand, because they do remember.

And in our country we already have a stable transport system, so live simply. Live within your means. Spend time with your family. Because when your time is up, who will be by your deathbed?

Wallahu’alam

